Ads That Changed Super Bowl Marketing


I’ll be the first to admit that even though I am a football fan, the only reason I watch the Super Bowl year after year is for the commercials. As I “watch” the game, the only reason my eyes leave whatever I’m doing instead is to look at the TV for a solid five minutes in hopes of seeing a gripping or comical commercial.

Looking at this week’s Linky Love, I was drawn to the 12 Ads That Changed Super Bowl Marketing link, anxious to see which 12 ads had been chosen. Granted a few were beyond my time, I did recognize quite a few. My favorites, amongst many, were the Apple, Monster, and Doritos commercials. Each ad chosen was in itself unique as to what resources the commercial used to create the wanted effect; i.e. special effects, emotions, humor, play-once-for-effect, generic play-every-commercial-break, etc. Each of these ads established the companies’ brand, or symbol of a brand, in some way or another. For example, when I see a Clydesdale horse, I instantly think Budweiser (or, don’t judge me, Farmville).

The ads on this list altered Super Bowl marketing through their ability to not only generate some sort of entertainment value for the audience, but they triggered critical thinking, emotional or personal ties, and/or an awe factor.

I personally think that the list was missing two classics: E*Trade’s “Out the Wazoo” (2000) and Volkswagen’s “The Force” (2011) commercials. Although at age nine, unaware of what ‘buzz’ was when E*Trade’s ad first aired, all I can remember was how often that commercial was talked about or the phrase “ (blank) out the wazoo!” was used. I may be slightly biased in loving Volkswagen’s ad for the 2012 Passat because I was that child that went through a Star Wars phase, desperately hoping I too would discover my inner “force.”

Needless to say, I’m exceptionally excited to see what this year’s commercial breaks hold!

Super Bowl 2012 via Hawk Eyes, Flikr

Super Bowl 2012 via Hawk Eyes, Flikr

2 thoughts on “Ads That Changed Super Bowl Marketing

  1. I noticed that Pepsi has declined to purchase a Super Bowl ad for the first time in decades. I believe in the new era of social media, companies are beginning to realize what a waste of money broad TV advertising is when you can target and engage your audience much more easily (and cheaper) online.

  2. Although the social media industry is growing at an exponential rate, companies need to realize that it isn’t the answer to everything. There are still a lot of audiences that aren’t available or easily accessed through the Internet and online marketing. Thus, companies are left to decide between a) spend less money and engage audiences primarily online, or, b) continue doing what they’ve been doing for years to ensure their target audiences are reached. Obviously the ideal approach would be to implement online marketing and social media into their plan in addition to traditional advertising, just maybe lower the amount of financial resources allocated to traditional advertising; but in the current state of the economy it’s a tough choice, so option a usually wins out.

Leave a Reply

